Before You Get Your Concealed Carry Permit in Louisiana – Free Carry Academy
Before You Get Your Concealed Carry Permit in Louisiana

Before You Get Your Concealed Carry Permit in Louisiana

Hello Fellow Gun Owner,

Acquiring a concealed carry permit allows you to every day carry a concealed weapon in Louisiana. Moreover, if another state you choose to visit has a reciprocity agreement under Concealed Carry Reciprocity legislation with the state of Louisiana, your Louisiana concealed carry weapon permit allows you to carry in those states as well. To find out which states recognize your Louisiana concealed carry permit, click on:

Do I Have to Have a Concealed Carry Permit in Louisiana?

While you can open carry in Louisiana, you must have a permit to concealed carry.

In order to be eligible to apply for a Louisiana concealed carry permit, you must be

  • Be twenty-one or older
  • Have completed an accredited in person or online firearm training course
  • Be a resident of Louisiana
  • Be an American citizen
  • Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor in any state relating to a controlled dangerous substance within the last five years.
  • Not have been convicted of a crime of violence within the last five years.
  • Not have been convicted of a crime of violence or any crime punishable by imprisonment for a term of one year or greater.
  • Not have had a permit revoked within four years prior to the most recent application.
  • Not have had a permit denied within one year prior to the most recent application.

Under the Concealed Carry Reciprocity legislation several states accept Louisiana concealed carry permits. To check click on:

Steps to Acquire a Louisiana Concealed Carry Permit

Concealed weapons permits are processed at the state level by the Louisiana State Police.

  1. Complete a weapons safety and training course in person or online at a Louisiana-approved facility or website.
  2. Obtain a certificate of completion of the course.
  3. Download a Louisiana concealed carry application form at
  4. Fill out the two-page application form
  5. Include the following documents with your application:
  • Three affidavits completed and notarized.
  • A copy of your Louisiana Driver’s License or Louisiana photo Identification Card.
  • A copy of Louisiana permanent injunction or the protective order. (If Applicable)
  • The correct fee. A five-year permit costs $125. A lifetime permit costs $500.
  • Proof of firearms training
  • Two sets of fingerprints on an FBI Applicant Card.
  • Marital Status – If you are divorced, copies of the divorce settlement, decree, or final judgment along with any orders or injunctions of the court must be included.
  • Record of Arrests Certified True Copies of court minutes as requested
  1. Submit this material to online to or by mail to Concealed Handgun Permit Unit, P.O. Box 66375, Baton Rouge, LA 70896.


Why choose online CCW training?

Louisiana residents and nonresidents can apply for the Virginia Non-resident Concealed Handgun Permit. This online concealed carry course and apply for your permit. Your permit is honored in the state of Louisiana, as well as in twenty-eight other states.

  1. Complete firearms training course at an accredited sight like Free carry Academy (
  2. Download and print a certificate of successful completion.
  3. Apply to Virginia website.
  4. If you have questions, contact the state of Virginia (

Taking CCW training online allows residents anywhere to obtain their CCW permit training from anywhere as long as they have access to a computer, a tablet, or a smartphone and a printer. This levels the playing field for those who live in remote areas of the state and get easily get to a training center.

Work and family schedules and responsibilities may make it impossible to attend a physical training center at the time courses are offered.

The time and travel costs may pose a financial burden to those who want to get a Louisiana CCW permit. Online training removes those costs.

The providers of online CCW training have had to submit an application as a CCW online training provider. The Louisiana Department of Justice has studied these applications and accepted only those that fulfill criteria for accreditation.

How to Apply for a Virginia Non-Resident Permit

To apply for your Virginia non-resident permit visit:

or go to

Click on “firearms/concealed handguns”.

Click on the “Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits” link.

This will bring you to a page that details the application process.

Begin the application process immediately by downloading the checklist of all documents that need to be prepared to make your application.

What about Non-Residents?

As a non-resident, you can apply online for a Virginia NO-Resident permit which is accepted in Louisiana. Louisiana recognizes concealed carry permits under Concealed Carry Reciprocity legislation. Check to see if your state concealed carry permit is recognized here:

Take the Class


GIF IMAGE Please wait while we are generating your certificate